6 Days

Marangu Route


Area to Visit

Marangu Gate, Mandara Hut, Horombo Hut, Kibo Hut and Summit

Full Itinerary

Day 1: Marangu Gate to Mandara Hut

Your adventure begins at Marangu Gate, where you'll enter Kilimanjaro National Park. Trek through the lush rainforest, a habitat rich in biodiversity. After completing park formalities, continue to Mandara Hut (2,700 meters/8,858 feet), your first overnight stop.

Day 2: Mandara Hut to Horombo Hut

Transition through diverse landscapes, from rainforest to heath and moorland. Marvel at the Maundi Crater and its breathtaking views. Arrive at Horombo Hut (3,720 meters/12,205 feet), where you'll spend the night surrounded by the unique alpine environment.

Day 3: Acclimatization Day at Horombo Hut

Take a day for acclimatization at Horombo Hut. Consider an optional day hike to Zebra Rocks or Mawenzi Hut to enhance your adjustment to the altitude. Rest and recharge, preparing for the challenges ahead.

Day 4: Horombo Hut to Kibo Hut

Ascend through the alpine desert, passing the Last Water Point. Reach Kibo Hut (4,700 meters/15,420 feet), the final campsite before the summit. Here, enjoy an early dinner and rest in preparation for the summit attempt.

Day 5: Summit Attempt and Descend to Horombo Hut

Embark on the summit attempt in the early hours, reaching Gillman's Point (5,681 meters/18,638 feet) and continuing to Uhuru Peak (5,895 meters/19,341 feet) for the sunrise. Descend to Kibo Hut for a brief rest before continuing the descent to Horombo Hut.

Day 6: Horombo Hut to Marangu Gate and Departure

Descend to Marangu Gate, completing park formalities and receiving your summit certificate. Transfer back to Moshi for a celebration of your achievement and departure. Reflect on the incredible journey through varied landscapes and the triumph of reaching the roof of Africa.

Tanzania Trekking Route

Related Packages

We can prepare a good itinerary according to your wishes and budget everyone can travel with us from luxury safari to economy safari.  

6 Days
Marangu Route
7 Days
Machame Route
7 Days
Rongai Route
8 Days
Lemosho Route